Obsession of the Week: Dark Night of the Soul


The Obsession of the Week is Dark Night of the Soul, which is the collaboration of Dangermouse and Sparklehorse with various other musicians. This audio visual project was to be released this summer, but legal issues between Dangermouse and his label have basically scrapped the project.

Fear not, however,  it will still be released as a book with images shot by David Lynch. The book will have a limited run of 5000 on May 29th. You can pre-order it here . The album has leaked
all over the internet and the book will come with a blank CD-R so that you can do with it what you will.

The album features a very talented line up of singers, including Jason Lytle (Grandaddy), Wayne Coyne (The Flaming Lips), James Mercer (The Shins) and Julian Casablancas (The Strokes) to name a few. Check out a song from the album and the tracklisting below.

Dark Night of the SoulLittle Girl (featuring Julian Casablancas)

Dark Night of the Soul Tracklisting:
01. Revenge (feat. Wayne Coyne)
02. Just War (feat. Gruff Rhys)
03. Jaykub (feat. Jason Lytle)
04. Little Girl (feat. Julian Casablancas)
05. Angel’s Harp (feat. Black Francis)
06. Pain (feat. Iggy Pop)
07. Star Eyes (I Can Catch It) (feat. James Mercer)
08. Everytime I’m With You (feat. Jason Lytle)
09. Insane Lullaby (feat. James Mercer)
10. Daddy’s God (feat. Nina Persson)
11. The Man Who Played God (feat. Nina Persson)
12. Grain Augury (feat. Vic Chesnutt)
13. Dark Night Of The Soul (feat. Vic Chesnutt)


add to : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook