The Smiths are Back! Sort of.
Wednesday, October 1, 2008, 12:39 k
Filed under: Consume This, Music | Tags: , , , , , ,

Some very exciting news for Smiths fans. Rhino is set to release The Sound of The Smiths on Nov 11th. Unlike the last greatest hits sets from these rockers, Rhino was wise enough to get imput from both Morrissey (who provided the title) and Johnny Marr (who helped with the mastering).

The retrospective set will be released in 2 versions–one single disc 23-song compilation, featuring all the band’s singles and one double-disc set that will include a second disc with the band’s b-sides, alternate versions and live takes.

Check out the track lists for both albums after the cut…


The Sound of the Smiths:
Disc One:
01 Hand in Glove [single version]
02 This Charming Man [single version]
03 What Difference Does It Make [Peel session]
04 Still Ill
05 Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now [single version]
06 William, It Was Really Nothing [single version]
07 How Soon Is Now?
08 Nowhere Fast
09 Shakespeare’s Sister [single version]
10 Barbarism Begins at Home [7″ version]
11 That Joke Isn’t Funny Anymore [single version]
12 The Headmaster Ritual
13 The Boy With the Thorn in His Side [single version]
14 Bigmouth Strikes Again [single version]
15 There Is a Light That Never Goes Out
16 Panic [single version]
17 Ask [single version]
18 You Just Haven’t Earned It Yet Baby [single version]
19 Shoplifters of the World Unite [single version]
20 Sheila Take a Bow [single version]
21 Girlfriend in a Coma [single version]
22 I Started Something I Couldn’t Finish [single version]
23 Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me [single version]

Disc Two:
01 Jeane [B-side]
02 Handsome Devil [B-side, live 1983]
03 This Charming Man [New York vocal]
04 Wonderful Woman
05 Back to the Old House [B-side]
06 These Things Take Time [B-side]
07 Girl Afraid [B-side]
08 Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want [B-side]
09 Stretch Out and Wait [B-side]
10 Oscillate Wildly [B-side]
11 Meat Is Murder [B-side, live in Oxford]
12 Asleep [B-side]
13 Money Changes Everything [B-side]
14 The Queen Is Dead / Take Me Back To Dear Old Blighty [medley]
15 Vicar in a Tutu [B-side]
16 Cemetry Gates [B-side]
17 Half a Person [B-side]
18 Sweet and Tender Hooligan [B-side]
19 Pretty Girls Make Graves [B-side, Trot Tate version]
20 Stop Me If You Think You’ve Heard This One Before
21 What’s the World [live in Glasgow]
22 London [live in London]

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

check Morrissey live exclusive B&W pictures on liveon35mm


Comment by Valerio

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: