Threadtrend


MET Costume Institute Gala ’08: Some Reflections.

The MET Costume Institute Gala happened Monday, and the theme was “Superheroes: Fashion and Superheroes. The results were mixed:

anna

Anna Wintour took the theme very literally. Apparently, she went as Storm from X-Men, announcing “I control the weather.” I don’t know, I kind of like it for her…at least it reflects her icy disposition. And it’s fun.

Lou Doillon looks hot in her Marni gown and messy hair. Of course. I think that kind of cool is what the Olsen in gold was going for:

Ashley-Olsen.preview

But the one in black looks really good!

80997858-1

I don’t know, I’m just partial to Kate Bosworth. Plus, I love to picture Karl Lagerfeld fingering this gown and saying, “this one, this is for my Kate.” Speaking of Karl…

Karl adds sparkle to his usual fare. Does he always wear the belly chain? It works for him.

80995260

I might be alone in this, but I don’t get this at all! It looks like Valentine’s Day threw up all over poor Christina Ricci. It know it’s super-flattering to her figure, but I feel like Elmer’s glue might have been involved.

EW! Who let them in ?!?!?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

great commentary. At first I didn’t love Kate B.’s dress, but I’ve seen a few more close-up pictures and it really is gorgeous. Her eye shadow situation is another story, though.

Comment by styleexchange

I wish everyone dressed like a SUPERHERO!
My favoriteS that did follow the theme were:
Zac Posen, Rachel Zimmermann and Caroline Trentini <–WOW!!

XOXO

Comment by ella

HAHA, so funny – ‘EW! Who let them in??’

Anyway, did you see Kimora Lee?! HORRIFIC!

Comment by Joanna

@Joanna

YES, I saw that freak Kimora! Yuck. What’s even weirder is that she made it on some best dressed lists.

Comment by threadtrend




Leave a Reply

