Threadtrend


Project Runway’s Christian Siriano Doesn’t Heart The Hills

Christian Siriano, who I hated at first but then grew to love on last season’s Project Runway, has spoken out against the pseudo-designers that the pseudo-reality show The Hills has spawned. At a recent party at TAO in Las Vegas, the hyper-confident designer had this to say about Lauren Conrad and her frenemies’ attempts at fashion design:

“It’s really sad that if I didn’t win Project Runway, I probably wouldn’t have the sponsors I have now. I would have never been able to do what they have done because they all have disposable income, and yet their work still isn’t that great! I mean, it’s fun and flirty and young, but they’re not innovators. None of them will ever be an innovative designer. Buyers and editors are looking for longevity, and hopefully they will see that in me.”

Hmmm…I think he was nice to describe their junk as “fun and flirty.” More like sad and trashy.

-Valentina

Source.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think he is right! I mean don’t get me wrong I LOVE The Hills but Lauren Conrad’s line wasn’t that great- I could probably walk into Target and get the same thing, in the clearance section! She gets to do this stuff because of her name and the attention MTV has given her. There are probably a thousands of other designers that are actually worthy of being on the runway but don’t have the means. Christian is an innovator and deserves the attention he is getting- because he worked hard for it- the day Lauren Conrad tries to build her business in a room the size of her closet and sleeps on the floor instead of having everything handed to her then maybe she will actually have some decent designs and some worthy recognition!

Comment by Deanna

[…] I do need to call lame on one thing. Wasn’t it lil’ Christian who was complaining about celebrity designers just a couple of weeks ago? Hmmph…Well, he’s calling Estelle his muse, and he made that dress she’s […]

Pingback by Project Runway’s Christian Siriano Designs for Puma « Threadtrend




Leave a Reply

