Threadtrend


My American Cousin. Canadian and Oh, So Stylish.
Friday, February 1, 2008, 10:18 k
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,
10.jpg

“I wish I was dead. Well, maybe not completely dead, maybe just 16 and some place else.”

When I was a kid, I used to love My American Cousin, a Canadian movie set in the “golden summer of 1959.” It’s about a super precocious 12 year old girl named Sandy Wilson, who hates her life on an apple orchard in a small town. Then her American cousin, Butch, a James Dean wannabe from California, drives up in his red Cadillac, and she comes of age. It’s beyond charming.

up-8myameri1.gif

The costuming in this movie is so insanely good. Sandy walks around in high-waisted red shorts, peddle pushers, sleeveless button downs, crisp white oxford shirts and Keds. She even wears a plaid one piece bathing suit! There are also lots of wayfarers, scarves, and party dresses worn to the Teen Town Dominion Day Dance.

I watched it last night, and now I want to dress like a 1950s Canadian pre-pubescent:
My-american-Couisin

Urban Outfitters jean shorts and swimsuit

Keds canvas Champions

Anchor Scarf by Topshop.

See the trailer of My American Cousin here and the first few minutes of the movie here.

V. Thread

Photo Source.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You can borrow my time machine for a few days (but only if you promise to hit a few New Kids concerts with me!)

Comment by trendinista

[…] sometimes you just want to jump in a time machine and go to […]

Pingback by This Week on Threadtrend « Threadtrend




Leave a Reply

