Threadtrend


Bay Area Shopping: Momoca Boutique and Official Tourist loved by me and M.I.A.
momoca-2.jpgofficial-tourist-hat-1.jpg

I recently took a 4 day excursion to the San Francisco/Berkeley area. There’s something about the North Bay that makes me smile like a hippie in the rain with a sundress on. While I expected to come back home with tons of photos of edgy girls and guys roaming the streets in great vintage and one-of-a-kind designer looks, I was wrong. I got nothin’ and I’m quite dissapointed.

So to all our Bay area Threadtrenders please prove me wrong and send us some great photos of you and your local scenesters to threadtrend@gmail.com to feature in a Bay area special.

And now on to Momoca. One very cool thing about the bay is the shopping and this time I discovered a tiny little boutique off Telegraph in Berkeley owned by an adorable fashion design duo from Japan. Momoca houses the owner’s own designs as well as other Bay area labels like Nisa and Official Tourist.

Momoca’s most recent collection is a collaboration with Adidas in which they’ve reconstructed basic Adidas stuff to create colorful, fun, one-of-a-kind girly pieces. Very eighties but not over the top.

momoca-1.jpg

One of my favorite things in the store was the line of Official Tourist “hoodies”. No jacket. No zipper. No fuss. They really are just “hoodies”. Each one is reversible with graphic prints, buffalo plaid, and shocking colors. Love em!

Artist M.I.A. loves them too. Check out this video where she tells us how she discovered their hoodies and how much she loves the one of a kind shirt dress they made for her. FYI, the first 4 minutes are actually of the Official Tourist designers in the Momoca store talking about their creations…. In German.

 

***Photo of boy in Official Tourist Hoodie courtesy of myspace.com/officialtourist

-Camille L

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] got the goods on Bay Area shopping: Momoca and Official […]

Pingback by This Week on Threadtrend « Threadtrend

[…] 2 weeks ago I expressed my frustration after returning from a San Francisco trip with not one photo of good Bay area street style. I was dissapointed in the lack of creative style from the local scenesters. I asked our Bay area Threadtrend readers to prove me wrong and send photos of their unique style or that of their neighbors and I got a whopping 1 response! […]

Pingback by Bay Area Street style: Kanan Kids « Threadtrend




Leave a Reply

