Threadtrend


Chanel Channels Amy Winehouse

chanelpre.jpg

Heroin chic is baa-aack, and I want credit. Well, not for bringing it back–those honors belong to nobody but Amy Winehouse, but I do want credit for predicting the embattled soul singer’s look would eventually hit high fashion. I do believe I called it when the October before last I wondered aloud, “how long before that Winehouse girl’s beehive hits the Prada runway?” Of course, you’ll have to take my word on this as I had no blog then to document such foresight.

I was wrong about Prada, but close enough. I should have known that it would be Karl Lagerfeld who would fall hard for Amy. He does have a penchant for bad girls and is often inspired by their shenanigans.  Remember those pseudo alcohol monitoring anklets from the spring shows?  I guess he’s so taken with Amy that he’s even calling her the new Brigitte Bardot although, personally, I think she’s more like the new Ronnie Spector.

brigitte.jpggirl-hair-ronnie-spector-1967.jpg

Okay, I guess they are pretty similar when you put them side by side.  Very delicious, the two of them.

Nonetheless, Karl loves Amy and he’s calling her his muse.  Here are his exact words:

She is a beautiful, gifted artist. And I very much like her hairdo. I took it as an inspiration. Because, in fact, it was also Brigitte Bardot’s hairdo in the late Fifties and Sixties. And now Amy has made it her own style. So, when I saw her, I knew it was the right moment. Amy . . . she is the new Brigitte. (source)

This is all fine with me.  I love Amy, Ronnie and Brigitte.  There’s just one thing that’s bothering me: what about Lindsay Lohan?  Where does this leave her?  Throwing her out like an old shoe, huh Karl? Well, who can blame you? She’s such a bore now that she’s all sober and poor.

–V. Thread 

 

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

