Threadtrend


Silversun Pickups Vs. Sonic Youth for Most Stylish Video
Wednesday, November 14, 2007, 11:00 k
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

Sonic Youth was one of the first punk bands I was ever into. I remember fondly their video for “Dirty Boots,” which I used to wait for everyday on Request Video (which was followed by Wally George). At the time, the kids in it where the coolest I’d ever seen, and this video was what I wanted life to be like.

Watching it now, it’s pretty hilarious–I love all the flannel shirts and XL band tees. So 90s.

I’d actually forgotten about it until I saw that Silversun Pickups video for “Lazy Eye.” It’s obviously an homage to Sonic Youth’s video, and they totally got the tone right. I love that cute, pixie-haired girl. She’s so Jean Seberg.

And where in this day and age did they find all those boys with The Bad News Bears hair?

–V. Thread

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love Sonic Youth! I have their music videos for Goo and Dirty Boots was always my favorite one.
More Sonic Youth love here:
http://www.iggli.com/roller/stephanie/entry/sonic_new_year_a_tribute

Cheers!

Comment by Stephanie

[…] Sonic Youth, one of my favorite bands of all time, played the Marc Jacobs Fall 08 show. And while I know that the world changes, and everything good eventually gets co-opted, re-packaged and resold for way more than you paid the first time around, this just makes me feel WEIRD. […]

Pingback by New York Fashion Week Fall 2008 RTW: Sonic Youth Plays Marc Jacobs « Threadtrend




Leave a Reply

