Threadtrend


Thrift Score: Z Cavariccis
Wednesday, October 31, 2007, 12:53 k
Filed under: Cheap Cheap, Consume This, Thrift Score | Tags: , , ,

Do you remember Z Cavaricci pants?

They were, hands down, the greatest part of any outfit for men and women in the mid to late 80’s. Equipped with a high waist, a long crotch, a plethora of pleats, extra belt loops, and a peg leg, they invoke images of A.C. Slater or, even better, Johnny Kemp in the 1988 “Just Another Lover” music video .

I used to pass over dozens of pairs of Z Cavariccis at thrift stores with no interest at all and now I regret it. The supply is now dangerously scarce. Every now and then, I’ll find a pair that resemble the brand’s shape and detail but they won’t have the signature Z Cavaricci label on the fly. So you can imagine how excited I was when I found a Black pair in pristine condition at my local thrift store for $4.95, White Z Cavarizzi label and all!!

If you think your days of peg pants and pleating are over, think again.

Pair it with a cropped tuxedo jacket By Lux From Urban Outfitters:

Patterned tank by Torn By Ronny Kobo :

Jewel-tone heels from TopShop:

and of course a skinny belt (or 2) to accent those many belt loops, such as these from Urban Outfitters:

Z. Cavaricci’s, These aren’t just another pair of trousers.

-Camille L.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

These are great!
The Johnny Kemp is brilliant, pretty freakin classic.

Comment by Tron 7Seize

[…] Meets Girl on my Walkman. Then when I walked in the door, my mom surprised me with a new pair of Z. Cavaricci pants. Turns out Jean Country and Merry Go Round were having a sale on them at the mall. Later on that […]

Pingback by Doug Collins Is The Bulls Coach? | Tirico Suave

where can i find a pair of z cavaricci from the 80s?

Comment by waunetta

I was waiting for someone to rock the z’s…I had the same pair in 89 – hot!

Comment by gina

I have a pair of z.cavaricci jeans, size 7 for sale. Any buyers?

Comment by Jo-Ann

Here are some details on the z.Cavaricci jeans (size 7)that I have for sale…Select Brand, Industrial Quality, Worn True, Sewen Tag in on the back waistband along with the red “z.Cavarricci” ribbon sewen on the back right pocket corner. Demin is 97% Cotton 3% Spandex. Inseam measures about 27 inches. Excellent Condition.

Comment by Jo-Ann

I have been looking for men’s 80’s early 90’s ZCavaricci’s.

Can anyone point me in the right direction.
I miss these pants.

Comment by jason

Looking for a vintage pair of Z.cavaricci pants from the late 1980’s with the name tag on the front. Need this for an 80’s silent auction to benefit the Micheal J. Fox Foundation

Comment by Beth Hochstein




Leave a Reply

