Threadtrend


LA Fashion Week 08: Grey Ant Blows My Mind

grey_ant6.jpg
My second night at LA Fashion Week completely pummeled my first. Grey Ant totally did it for me and in a big way. I read on Fashion Week Daily that Grant Grajecki’s inspiration for the line was “a fantasy future set in Seattle, kind of like the movie The Neverending Story, with a little erotic Bob Fosse technique.” Jesus, Grajecki and I are totally on the same wavelength!

I liked the hippie meets the future vibe and the way structured silhouettes collided with big and comfy tops. Tye die was also part of the mix as was Divine’s screaming mug in the form of a silkscreened top and body suit. The Grey Ant signature high waist was all around in the form of trousers, jeans, and shorts, and even the guys had denim up to their belly buttons. Sexy! I wanted some of the pieces so much, my heart cried out with aching passion, and still does.

I’m posting some photos I found, but honestly, I don’t think the images do the collection justice. In person, the line inspired gasps and cheers from the audience as did the models’ varied body types, ages and gender identities.

greyant.jpg
greyant21.jpggreyant3.jpggreyant4.jpggreyant5.jpggreyant6.jpg

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] home about.  There are  talented designers who show there–I remember a particularly good Grey Ant show–but let’s face it, it just never quite rises to the level of most fashion weeks. Maybe […]

Pingback by LA Fashion Week Spring 09: Gen Art’s “Fresh Faces of Fashion « Threadtrend




Leave a Reply

